Capital on Tap alternatives: which card to pick instead, and when
By Chris · First published 22 September 2026
Capital on Tap is the card I use, but it is not the right card for everyone. Here are the Capital on Tap alternatives worth considering, grouped by the reason you are looking, with every figure taken from the issuer’s own page.
Why people look for an alternative
The reasons tend to fall into a handful of groups. Capital on Tap is not available to sole traders. It does not publish a representative APR. Some applicants are declined, and some, like me, get a starting limit lower than they hoped. Others want something it does not do: Amex points, a multi-currency debit account, full expense management, or a card inside the banking app they already use. Each section below takes one of those reasons and names the cards that answer it. For the full picture of Capital on Tap itself, read the Capital on Tap review.
(a) You are a sole trader
Capital on Tap accepts only a Ltd, LLP or PLC, so a sole trader needs another card. The main options:
- Barclaycard Select Cashback: £0 fee, 1% cashback, uncapped, but only in months when you spend more than £2,000, 2.99% on non-sterling spend, 25.5% APR representative (variable). The product page does not list a Barclays current account as a requirement.
- British Airways Amex Accelerating Business: £250 fee, 1.25 Avios per £1 (cut from 1.5 on 7 October 2026); 10,000 bonus Avios per £20,000 spent (up to three times a year). Eligibility: sole traders and small businesses with a UK business bank account; £20,000+ personal income. A card for Avios collectors rather than cashback.
- Zempler Bank Business Credit Card: £0 fee, 1% cashback on the first £100,000 of eligible spend a month, 2.99% on non-sterling spend. The APR is stated inconsistently: 21.9% APR representative (variable) on the web page; the linked summary box says 29.9% representative and a maximum limit of £5,000.
- Your own bank’s card: most high-street business credit cards accept sole traders but require a current account with that bank. See the table below.
| Card | Annual fee | Rewards | Eligibility |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Airways Amex Accelerating Business | £250 | 1.25 Avios per £1 (cut from 1.5 on 7 October 2026); 10,000 bonus Avios per £20,000 spent (up to three times a year) | Sole traders and small businesses with a UK business bank account; £20,000+ personal income |
| Barclaycard Select Cashback | £0 | 1% cashback, uncapped, but only in months when you spend more than £2,000 | Business owner or director, UK-based, turnover £10,000 to £6.5 million; sole traders accepted |
| Barclaycard Premium Plus | £150 per account | 0.5% cashback, capped at £400 a year; travel insurance when the trip is paid on the card | Turnover £10,000 to £6.5 million |
| NatWest Business Credit Card | £30 per card; free in year one and waived with £6,000+ annual spend | 1% cashback on fuel and EV charging only | Existing NatWest business current account in the same legal entity; turnover up to £2 million |
| NatWest Business Plus Credit Card | £70 per card | 3% fuel and EV, 2% trade supplies, 1% travel, 0.5% other; capped at £600 a year per account | NatWest business current account required; turnover up to £2 million |
| Lloyds Bank Business Credit Card | £32 per cardholder; free for the first 12 months and waived with £6,000+ annual spend | 1% on fuel and EV charging, 0.5% elsewhere, in months you spend £2,000+ | Existing Lloyds business current account holder; sole trader, partner or director. Limits up to £25,000 |
| HSBC Commercial Card | £32 per card, waived in year one | None | HSBC business current account required |
| Santander Business Cashback Credit Card | £30 | 1% cashback, uncapped, paid monthly | Existing Santander business current account; sole trader, partnership, LLP or Ltd with up to two partners or directors. Limits £500 to £25,000 |
| Metro Bank Business Credit Card | £0 | None | Metro Bank business or commercial current account required |
| Zempler Bank Business Credit Card | £0 | 1% cashback on the first £100,000 of eligible spend a month | Sole traders accepted |
| Virgin Money Business Credit Card | £0 in year one, then £28 per card | 1% cashback on eligible spend, uncapped (exclusions apply) | Virgin Money business current account required; trading for at least 12 months |
| Bank of Scotland Business Credit Card | £32 per cardholder; free for cards added in the first 12 months and waived with £6,000+ annual spend | 1% on fuel and EV charging, 0.5% elsewhere, in months you spend £2,000+ | Existing Bank of Scotland business current account holder; sole trader, partner or director |
Our guide to sole trader business credit cards goes through these in more depth, including how to keep business and personal spend apart.
(b) You want a published APR before applying
Capital on Tap advertises rates as low as 13.86% APR (variable) and says your rate depends on your personal and business credit history and the Bank of England base rate. It does not publish a representative APR, so you only see your own rate after applying (it runs a soft search on your personal credit file when you apply). If you expect to carry a balance and want a figure to compare first, these cards publish one:
- British Airways Amex Accelerating Business: 104.9% APR representative (variable), including the fee
- Barclaycard Select Cashback: 25.5% APR representative (variable)
- Barclaycard Premium Plus: 54.3% APR representative (variable), including the fee
- NatWest Business Credit Card: 24.3% APR representative (variable); purchase rate 16.9%
- NatWest Business Plus Credit Card: 29% APR representative (variable); purchase rate 13.9%
- Lloyds Bank Business Credit Card: 15.95% APR representative (variable); purchase rate 14.9%
- HSBC Commercial Card: 22% APR representative (variable); purchase rate 15.9%
- Santander Business Cashback Credit Card: 23.7% APR representative (variable); purchase rate 18.9%
- Metro Bank Business Credit Card: 18.9% APR representative (variable)
- Zempler Bank Business Credit Card: 21.9% APR representative (variable) on the web page; the linked summary box says 29.9% representative and a maximum limit of £5,000
- Funding Circle Cashback Business Credit Card: 34.9% APR representative (variable); from 14.9%
- Virgin Money Business Credit Card: 27.7% APR representative (variable); purchase rate 21.9%
- The Co-operative Bank Business Credit Card: 21.8% APR representative (variable), including the fee; purchase rate 15.9%
- Bank of Scotland Business Credit Card: 15.95% APR representative (variable); purchase rate 14.9%
- iwoca Credit Card: 35.40% APR representative (variable); rates from 14.99%
The two closest to Capital on Tap in shape are iwoca (35.40% APR representative (variable); rates from 14.99%) and Funding Circle (34.9% APR representative (variable); from 14.9%); both are compared side by side below. If you intend to pay in full every month, the APR on any of these cards never applies: Capital on Tap charges no interest on purchases if you pay the statement balance in full by the due date.
(c) You were declined, or the limit is too low
I have first-hand experience of this one. My Capital on Tap limit came in lower than I expected, and it has not changed in the years since. Capital on Tap advertises limits up to £250,000 and runs automatic account reviews for higher limits, and its own advice is 3 to 6 months of on-time history between requests. The credit limit page covers Capital on Tap’s advice alongside my own experience. Your options:
- A different lender: iwoca advertises limits up to £250,000 and Funding Circle advertises up to £250,000. Lenders assess risk differently, so a decline or a small limit from one does not predict the next. Note Funding Circle’s criteria: limited companies only; at least one year trading; £30,000+ turnover.
- Your own bank: a bank that already sees your account may be more comfortable with a larger limit. Bank cards on our list that require an existing account include NatWest Business Credit Card, NatWest Business Plus Credit Card, Lloyds Bank Business Credit Card, HSBC Commercial Card, Santander Business Cashback Credit Card, Metro Bank Business Credit Card, Virgin Money Business Credit Card, The Co-operative Bank Business Credit Card, Bank of Scotland Business Credit Card.
- Preloading, if you already hold Capital on Tap: Preloading lets you spend beyond your limit with your own money. It is a workaround rather than more credit, but it keeps large payments on the card and earning points.
(d) You want Amex points and perks
If Membership Rewards points and travel perks matter more than a flat cashback rate, American Express is the alternative. American Express Business Gold has a fee of £0 in year one, then £195 and earns 1 Membership Rewards point per £1 (2 per £1 with Amex Travel). American Express Business Platinum costs £650 and adds travel credits. Both are charge cards for a limited company or LLP, and both charge 2.99% on non-sterling spend. Our Capital on Tap vs Amex Business comparison sets them side by side, and Amex Business Gold vs Platinum helps choose between the two. Because Amex acceptance is narrower, it is worth keeping a no-fee Visa alongside either card.
(e) You want multi-currency debit, not credit
Some businesses do not want credit at all; they want to hold and spend foreign currencies cheaply. That is a business account with a debit card, not a credit card:
- Revolut Business: Plans: Basic £10, Grow from £30, Scale from £90 a month. FX: interbank rate within a monthly allowance (Basic £1,000, Grow £15,000, Scale £60,000), then 0.6%; +1% outside market hours. On credit, Revolut says: No credit: "we don't provide credit, credit cards, or overdrafts".
- Wise Business card: No subscription; one-off £50 set-up fee for full account features. FX: mid-market rate plus a conversion fee from 0.24%; free to spend a currency you already hold. It is not fee-free on conversions.
- Starling Business: £0 account fee; card spend abroad at 0%, Mastercard rate.
None of these earns rewards on card spend, and none gives you a credit line. Capital on Tap already charges a 0% non-sterling transaction fee, so if what you wanted was cheap card spend abroad rather than holding currency, you may not need to switch. The Capital on Tap vs Revolut Business comparison covers the difference.
(f) You want full expense management
Pleo is built around receipts, approvals and per-employee spending. Pricing: start £8, Build £14, Optimise £18 per user per month (Build and Optimise billed yearly, 3-user minimum). How it is funded: prepaid e-money cards funded from your bank; an optional credit limit (£5k / £20k / £100k by plan) for eligible customers. Non-sterling fees: 2.00% / 1.75% / 1.49% by plan. Rewards: none. It is a better tool for a finance team chasing receipts across a larger staff; for a small team, Capital on Tap’s unlimited free employee cards with per-card limits and accounting sync may cover enough. See Capital on Tap vs Pleo.
(g) You want the same card through your bank app
If you bank with Tide, the credit card offered in the Tide app is Capital on Tap’s card. The issuer line on Tide’s page reads: Tide Platform Ltd (credit broker, FRN 718743); the card is Capital on Tap's. Fee: £0 (it is the Capital on Tap free card, brokered by Tide). Tide's own cards are debit cards on its business current account; it does not issue a credit card. So applying through Tide is not an alternative product; it is the same card via a broker. The Capital on Tap vs Tide page explains the difference in how you apply.
Closest like-for-like: iwoca and Funding Circle
If you are a limited company and want something shaped like Capital on Tap, a no-fee card with cashback, no FX fee and a large advertised limit, iwoca and Funding Circle are the two to look at. On iwoca: launched in 2026; the page describes it as new. Its issuer is Issued by Enfuce UK Limited (FRN 993783) for iwoca Ltd. Funding Circle’s card is issued by Monavate Ltd (EMI, FRN 901097) for Funding Circle.
| Feature | Capital on TapFree card | iwoca Credit Card | Funding Circle Cashback |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annual fee | £0 annual fee | £0 | £0 |
| Rewards | 1 point per £1 (1% cashback), uncapped; Avios and Virgin Points conversion | 1% cashback on all spending, credited to the balance | 2% cashback for 6 months (capped at £2,000), then 1% uncapped |
| Non-sterling fee | 0% non-sterling transaction fee | 0% (Visa exchange rate) | 0% |
| Interest / representative APR | as low as 13.86% APR (variable); no representative APR published | 35.40% APR representative (variable); rates from 14.99% | 34.9% APR representative (variable); from 14.9% |
| Interest-free | no interest on purchases if you pay the statement balance in full by the due date | Up to 42 days | Up to 42 days if paid in full |
| Credit limit (advertised maximum) | up to £250,000 | Up to £250,000 | Up to £250,000 |
| Cash withdrawals | £0 ATM fee; interest on cash withdrawals from the day you take them | Cash withdrawals not available | Cash withdrawals not permitted |
| Eligibility | Ltd, LLP or PLC; no minimum trading history | UK limited company (the FAQ also says partnership), registered at Companies House | Limited companies only; at least one year trading; £30,000+ turnover |
| Employee cards | unlimited free employee cards with per-card limits | Not stated in our data | Unlimited and free (a feature Funding Circle labels Beta); only a director can issue them |
| Accounting sync | Sage, Xero, QuickBooks, FreeAgent and more | Not stated in our data | FreeAgent, Xero, Sage |
| Personal guarantee | personal guarantee required | Yes | Yes |
| ApplyTakes you to capitalontap.com · Referral link |
Where they differ: both rivals publish a representative APR and Capital on Tap does not. Funding Circle has an introductory rate (2% cashback for 6 months (capped at £2,000), then 1% uncapped) and says no need to switch your business banking. Neither allows cash withdrawals. iwoca’s eligibility is worded inconsistently: Page body says director of a limited company; FAQ says limited company or partnership.. Capital on Tap has no minimum trading history, where Funding Circle’s criteria include: at least one year trading; £30,000+ turnover. We also hold an iwoca card. It came with a credit limit four times our Capital on Tap limit, and we use it for larger purchases; against that, the card does not work with Apple Pay, and its transactions have not synced to Xero automatically, so we download them from iwoca and import them by hand. Our Capital on Tap vs Funding Circle and Capital on Tap vs iwoca comparisons go line by line, and the iwoca Credit Card review looks at iwoca on its own terms.
When Capital on Tap is still the one to pick
For a limited company or LLP, Capital on Tap remains the strongest all-rounder on our list, and it is the card I use. The case for it:
- Company type and age: open to a Ltd, LLP or PLC, with no minimum trading history.
- No fee, no FX fee: a £0 annual fee and a 0% non-sterling transaction fee.
- Rewards with no threshold: 1 point per £1 from the first pound, and Avios conversion at 10 points = 8 Avios on the free card, which neither iwoca nor Funding Circle offers on the data we hold.
- Staff: unlimited free employee cards with per-card limits, plus instant virtual cards; I use its card controls in my own business.
- Books: accounting sync to Sage, Xero, QuickBooks, FreeAgent and more, which I use.
- Your existing bank: Capital on Tap is not a bank and has no current account to move you to. Its card page says you need a business bank account, with any bank, to apply, and its FAQ says you can connect more than one business bank account, so the account you use is one you already hold.
If that describes your business, the Capital on Tap referral code page explains the welcome bonus, and the business credit cards hub lists every card we track if you want to keep looking.
Frequently asked questions
What is the closest alternative to Capital on Tap?
The iwoca Credit Card and the Funding Circle Cashback card. Both are for limited companies, both have a £0 fee, both have 0% FX, and both advertise limits up to £250,000. Unlike Capital on Tap, both publish a representative APR: iwoca 35.40% APR representative (variable); rates from 14.99%; Funding Circle 34.9% APR representative (variable); from 14.9%.
Is there a Capital on Tap alternative for sole traders?
Yes. Capital on Tap is not available to sole traders. Cards that do accept sole traders include Barclaycard Select Cashback (£0 fee), the Zempler Bank Business Credit Card (£0 fee) and the British Airways Amex Accelerating Business (£250 fee), plus most high-street bank cards if you already bank with that bank.
Is the Tide credit card different from Capital on Tap?
No. Tide acts as a credit broker; the issuer line reads “Tide Platform Ltd (credit broker, FRN 718743); the card is Capital on Tap's”. The card, fee and rewards are Capital on Tap’s: £0 (it is the Capital on Tap free card, brokered by Tide).
What can I do if Capital on Tap declined me or gave me a low limit?
Try a lender with a different view of risk (iwoca and Funding Circle both advertise limits up to £250,000; iwoca gave us a credit limit four times our Capital on Tap limit), or your own bank, which already sees your account. If you have a Capital on Tap card with a small limit, preloading lets you spend beyond your limit with your own money. Capital on Tap also runs automatic account reviews for higher limits.
Does Capital on Tap publish a representative APR?
No. It advertises rates as low as 13.86% APR (variable), and your rate depends on your personal and business credit history and the Bank of England base rate. If you want a representative APR before you apply, iwoca, Funding Circle and the bank cards publish one.
Sources
- Capital on Tap Business Credit Card page
- Capital on Tap FAQ
- Capital on Tap homepage
- Capital on Tap Revolving Credit Facility Agreement
- Capital on Tap Rewards Terms and Conditions (source last updated 8 June 2026)
- Capital on Tap: Business credit card rates and fees (guide, 22 April 2026) (source last updated 22 April 2026)
- Capital on Tap: How to get a credit limit increase (blog, 16 April 2026) (source last updated 16 April 2026)
- Capital on Tap Refer a Friend Programme terms (source last updated 29 April 2025)
- iwoca Credit Card: Issued by Enfuce UK Limited (FRN 993783) for iwoca Ltd
- Funding Circle Cashback Business Credit Card: Issued by Monavate Ltd (EMI, FRN 901097) for Funding Circle
- Barclaycard Select Cashback: Barclays Bank PLC
- British Airways Amex Accelerating Business: American Express Services Europe Limited
- Zempler Bank Business Credit Card: Zempler Bank Limited
- American Express Business Gold: American Express Services Europe Limited
- American Express Business Platinum: American Express Services Europe Limited
- Revolut Business: Revolut Bank UK Ltd (FRN 981170) / Revolut Ltd (EMI, FRN 900562)
- Wise Business card: Wise Payments Limited (EMI, FRN 900507)
- Starling Business: Starling Bank Limited
- Pleo: Pleo Financial Services UK Ltd (EMI, FRN 1020730)
- Tide business credit card: Tide Platform Ltd (credit broker, FRN 718743); the card is Capital on Tap's
Figures last checked 28 October 2026. If something has changed, tell us and we will correct it.
Related reading
- ReviewA first-hand Capital on Tap review from a UK agency owner: cashback, employee cards, accounting sync, and the credit-limit problem nobody mentions.
- vs Funding CircleCapital on Tap against the Funding Circle Cashback Business Credit Card: the 2% intro rate, eligibility, APR, cash withdrawals and who each suits.
- For sole tradersCapital on Tap does not accept sole traders. Here are the UK cards and charge cards that do, what they cost and how to keep business spend separate.
- All cards comparedEvery UK business credit card we track, compared on annual fee, representative APR, rewards, FX fee, eligibility and sole-trader acceptance. Each figure sourced.