Skip to content
UK BusinessCredit Cards

Free business credit cards UK: no annual fee cards, and what the catch is

By Chris

6 UK business credit cards in our data charge no annual fee at all, and several more are free in year one or waive the fee if you spend enough. “Free” still has conditions: per-card fees for staff, cashback thresholds, foreign transaction fees, bank account requirements and interest. This page sorts every card by what it really costs to hold, from the issuers’ own pages checked on 15 September 2026.

The short list

  • Limited company or LLP: Capital on Tap. £0 annual fee, unlimited free employee cards, 0% non-sterling transaction fee, and 1% cashback from the first pound with no threshold. It is the card I use.
  • Limited company wanting an alternative: iwoca (£0 fee, 1% cashback on all spending, credited to the balance, 0% (Visa exchange rate) FX), or Funding Circle (£0) if you have a year of trading behind you.
  • Sole trader: Barclaycard Select Cashback (£0), which accepts sole traders and states no current account requirement; Zempler (£0) is the other free option without a bank account requirement listed.
  • Happy with your high-street bank: its own card may cost nothing in year one and nothing after if you spend enough, but check the per-card fee before ordering staff cards.
  • Want Amex points: American Express Business Gold is £0 in year one, then £195.

Genuinely free business credit cards

These charge no annual fee in any year. Capital on Tap is first because it is the card we use. Tide’s business credit card is Capital on Tap’s card brokered by Tide, so it is not counted separately.

UK business credit cards with no annual fee
CardAnnual feeEmployee cardsRewardsNon-sterling feeEligibility
Capital on TapNew Wave Capital Limited · the card we useApplyTakes you to capitalontap.com · Referral link£0 annual feeunlimited free employee cards with per-card limits1 point per £1 (1% cashback), uncapped, no threshold0% non-sterling transaction feeLtd, LLP or PLC; £24,000 minimum annual turnover; not available to sole traders
Barclaycard Select CashbackBarclays Bank PLC£0Free; administrators set each cardholder’s limit; number not stated1% cashback, uncapped, but only in months when you spend more than £2,0002.99%Business owner or director, UK-based, turnover £10,000 to £6.5 million; sole traders accepted
Metro Bank Business Credit CardMetro Bank PLC£0Not stated in our dataNone0% in SEPA Europe; 2.99% elsewhereMetro Bank business or commercial current account required
Zempler Bank Business Credit CardZempler Bank Limited£0Not stated in our data1% cashback on the first £100,000 of eligible spend a month2.99%Sole traders accepted
Funding Circle Cashback Business Credit CardIssued by Monavate Ltd (EMI, FRN 901097) for Funding Circle£0Unlimited and free (a feature Funding Circle labels Beta); only a director can issue them2% cashback for 6 months (capped at £2,000), then 1% uncapped0%Limited companies only; at least one year trading; £30,000+ turnover
iwoca Credit CardIssued by Enfuce UK Limited (FRN 993783) for iwoca Ltd£0Not stated in our data1% cashback on all spending, credited to the balance0% (Visa exchange rate)UK limited company (the FAQ also says partnership), registered at Companies House

Read across the rows and the free cards split in two. Capital on Tap, iwoca and Funding Circle are specialist lenders for limited companies: all three pair the £0 fee with 1% cashback and a 0% non-sterling fee. Barclaycard Select Cashback, Metro Bank Business Credit Card and Zempler Bank Business Credit Card accept sole traders, but each gives something up: Barclaycard Select pays 1% cashback, uncapped, but only in months when you spend more than £2,000 and charges 2.99% abroad; Metro pays none and needs its current account; Zempler pays 1% cashback on the first £100,000 of eligible spend a month but its representative APR is unclear (21.9% APR representative (variable) on the web page; the linked summary box says 29.9% representative and a maximum limit of £5,000).

Free at first, or free if you spend

These cards have an annual fee but waive it in the first year, above a spending level, or both. Most are high-street bank cards, and most charge per card rather than per account, which matters as soon as you add staff.

UK business cards with a conditional annual fee
CardAnnual feeEmployee cardsRewardsNon-sterling feeEligibility
American Express Business GoldAmerican Express Services Europe Limited£0 in year one, then £195Up to 20 complimentary, with limits you set; the main Cardmember is liable for their spending1 Membership Rewards point per £1 (2 per £1 with Amex Travel)2.99%Ltd or LLP only; director or member; £20,000+ personal income. Sole traders are not eligible
NatWest Business Credit CardNational Westminster Bank plc£30 per card; free in year one and waived with £6,000+ annual spendNot stated in our data1% cashback on fuel and EV charging only2.95%Existing NatWest business current account in the same legal entity; turnover up to £2 million
Lloyds Bank Business Credit CardLloyds Bank plc£32 per cardholder; free for the first 12 months and waived with £6,000+ annual spendNot stated in our data1% on fuel and EV charging, 0.5% elsewhere, in months you spend £2,000+2.95%Existing Lloyds business current account holder; sole trader, partner or director. Limits up to £25,000
HSBC Commercial CardHSBC UK Bank plc£32 per card, waived in year one£32 per card after year oneNone2.99%HSBC business current account required
Virgin Money Business Credit CardNationwide Building Society (trading as Virgin Money)£0 in year one, then £28 per cardUnlimited, each with its own limit; £28 a card after year one1% cashback on eligible spend, uncapped (exclusions apply)2.95% (not charged on euro, Swedish krona or Romanian leu spend in the UK or EEA)Virgin Money business current account required; trading for at least 12 months
Bank of Scotland Business Credit CardBank of Scotland plc£32 per cardholder; free for cards added in the first 12 months and waived with £6,000+ annual spend£32 per cardholder after year one (same spend waiver)1% on fuel and EV charging, 0.5% elsewhere, in months you spend £2,000+2.95%Existing Bank of Scotland business current account holder; sole trader, partner or director

The spend waivers look generous but are worth reading closely. The pages do not make clear whether the spending test applies to each card or to the whole account; if it is per card, an employee card used for the occasional train ticket would still pay. Year-one waivers are a trial, not a price: after twelve months the fee applies unless you meet the condition. Amex Business Gold is a charge card, not a credit card, so it must be cleared in full each month, and after year one its fee is the largest in this group.

Cards that always charge a fee

These charge every year. That is not automatically bad: a fee can buy lower FX charges, travel insurance, category cashback or airline points. But it is guaranteed, while the benefits depend on how you use the card.

UK business cards with an annual fee every year
CardAnnual feeEmployee cardsRewardsNon-sterling feeEligibility
The Co-operative Bank Business Credit CardThe Co-operative Bank p.l.c.£24The page does not say whether the fee is per card or per account.Additional cards on the same limit; cost not statedNone (the bank gives £1 per account per month to its Customer Donation Fund)2.75%Co-operative Bank business account holder required (closing it closes the card)
Santander Business Cashback Credit CardSantander UK plc£30Up to 3 additional cardholders (4 cards in total), no extra fee; every director or partner must hold one1% cashback, uncapped, paid monthly0% on purchases in the local currencyExisting Santander business current account; sole trader, partnership, LLP or Ltd with up to two partners or directors. Limits £500 to £25,000
NatWest Business Plus Credit CardNational Westminster Bank plc£70 per card£70 a year per cardholder3% fuel and EV, 2% trade supplies, 1% travel, 0.5% other; capped at £600 a year per account0% on purchasesNatWest business current account required; turnover up to £2 million
Barclaycard Premium PlusBarclays Bank PLC£150 per accountFree0.5% cashback, capped at £400 a year; travel insurance when the trip is paid on the card0.99%Turnover £10,000 to £6.5 million
British Airways Amex Accelerating BusinessAmerican Express Services Europe Limited£250Complimentary1.25 Avios per £1 (cut from 1.5 on 7 October 2026); 10,000 bonus Avios per £20,000 spent (up to three times a year)2.99%Sole traders and small businesses with a UK business bank account; £20,000+ personal income
American Express Business PlatinumAmerican Express Services Europe Limited£650Complimentary Business Gold employee cards plus one complimentary Platinum employee card1 point per £1 (2 per £1 with Amex Travel); £600 Amex Travel credit, £300 Indeed and £150 Dell statement credits2.99%Ltd or LLP only; £35,000+ personal income. Sole traders are not eligible

Santander’s £30 is the smallest real fee and buys 1% cashback, uncapped, paid monthly with 0% on purchases in the local currency; the page adds that the £30 fee is added when you activate the card and is charged even if you do not use it. Co-operative Bank charges £24, and the page does not say whether the fee is per card or per account. NatWest Business Plus charges £70 per card and has no free first year, including for startups. At the top end, the fees buy travel perks and points rather than cheaper borrowing.

Catch 1: per-card fees multiply with employee cards

A card at £30 a year for one director costs £150 a year for a team of 5 if the fee is charged per card. Most high-street business cards charge that way: NatWest (£30 per card; free in year one and waived with £6,000+ annual spend), Lloyds (£32 per cardholder; free for the first 12 months and waived with £6,000+ annual spend), HSBC (£32 per card after year one), Virgin Money (unlimited, each with its own limit; £28 a card after year one) and NatWest Business Plus (£70 a year per cardholder). Capital on Tap gives you unlimited free employee cards with per-card limits, and you can set limits per billing period or per transaction. Here is the illustrative cost of one main card and four employee cards.

Illustrative annual cost of a five-card setup
CardFee, as the issuer states itEmployee cards5 cards, year one5 cards, later years
Capital on Tap£0 annual feeunlimited free employee cards£0£0
Barclaycard Select Cashback£0Free; administrators set each cardholder’s limit; number not stated£0£0
Funding Circle Cashback Business Credit Card£0Unlimited and free (a feature Funding Circle labels Beta); only a director can issue them£0£0
Virgin Money Business Credit Card£0 in year one, then £28 per cardUnlimited, each with its own limit; £28 a card after year one£0£140
NatWest Business Credit Card£30 per card; free in year one and waived with £6,000+ annual spendNot stated in our data£0£150
Lloyds Bank Business Credit Card£32 per cardholder; free for the first 12 months and waived with £6,000+ annual spendNot stated in our data£0£160
Bank of Scotland Business Credit Card£32 per cardholder; free for cards added in the first 12 months and waived with £6,000+ annual spend£32 per cardholder after year one (same spend waiver)£0£160
HSBC Commercial Card£32 per card, waived in year one£32 per card after year one£0£160
NatWest Business Plus Credit Card£70 per card£70 a year per cardholder£350£350
Barclaycard Premium Plus£150 per accountFree£150£150
American Express Business Gold£0 in year one, then £195Up to 20 complimentary, with limits you set; the main Cardmember is liable for their spending£0£195

Illustrative only: one main card plus four employee cards, the full fee on every card, and no spend waiver applied (NatWest, Lloyds and Bank of Scotland waive theirs above a spending level). Cards whose employee-card cost is not stated, or that cap the number of cards, are left out.

Santander is left out because it allows up to 3 additional cardholders (4 cards in total), no extra fee; every director or partner must hold one, and Co-operative Bank because its employee card cost is not stated. Metro and Zempler state no employee-card cost in our data. For a business with several people spending, this line decides more than the headline fee; the business credit cards for employee cards page compares controls as well as cost.

Catch 2: a free card can pay nothing back

A free card with a cashback threshold can earn you nothing in a quiet month. Barclaycard Select pays 1% cashback, uncapped, but only in months when you spend more than £2,000. Lloyds pays 1% on fuel and EV charging, 0.5% elsewhere, in months you spend £2,000+. Metro and HSBC pay no rewards at all. Capital on Tap pays 1 point per £1 on everything, from the first pound, and iwoca pays 1% cashback on all spending, credited to the balance. The effective rate at different spend levels is worked out on cashback business credit cards.

Catch 3: foreign transaction fees

A card with no annual fee can still cost more than one with a fee if you spend in other currencies. Barclaycard Select charges 2.99%; Zempler 2.99%; Metro 0% in SEPA Europe; 2.99% elsewhere. On £500 a month of dollar software, a 2.99% fee is about £179.40 a year, more than most annual fees. Capital on Tap charges 0% non-sterling transaction fee, as do iwoca (0% (Visa exchange rate)) and Funding Circle (0%). Every Capital on Tap charge, including cash withdrawals, is on the Capital on Tap fees page.

Catch 4: the bank account requirement

Most bank cards are only for that bank’s own business customers. Of the credit cards on this page, 9 say so: Metro Bank Business Credit Card, NatWest Business Credit Card, Lloyds Bank Business Credit Card, HSBC Commercial Card, Virgin Money Business Credit Card, Bank of Scotland Business Credit Card, The Co-operative Bank Business Credit Card, Santander Business Cashback Credit Card and NatWest Business Plus Credit Card. If you are happy where you bank, that may settle it. If not, a free card from your bank can come with the cost of moving your account.

Capital on Tap is not a bank and has no current account to move you to. It says you need a business bank account, with any bank, to apply, and you can connect more than one business bank account; the account you use is one you already hold. Funding Circle says no need to switch your business banking. The full list is on business credit cards that don’t need you to switch bank, and the head-to-head is Capital on Tap vs the high-street banks.

Catch 5: interest if you carry a balance

No annual fee says nothing about the interest rate. Credit cards generally charge no interest on purchases cleared in full by the due date (check each card’s terms); carry a balance and the rate matters more than any fee. The free cards publish representative APRs: Barclaycard Select Cashback, 25.5% APR representative (variable); Metro Bank Business Credit Card, 18.9% APR representative (variable); Zempler Bank Business Credit Card, 21.9% APR representative (variable) on the web page; the linked summary box says 29.9% representative and a maximum limit of £5,000; Funding Circle Cashback Business Credit Card, 34.9% APR representative (variable); from 14.9%; iwoca Credit Card, 35.40% APR representative (variable); rates from 14.99%. Capital on Tap does not publish a representative APR. It advertises rates as low as 13.86% APR (variable), and your rate depends on your personal and business credit history and the Bank of England base rate. On Capital on Tap, as on the others, there is no interest on purchases if you pay the statement balance in full by the due date. The practical answer is in how to avoid business credit card interest.

One more point on Capital on Tap specifically: the free card is not a trial of the paid one. Pro costs £299 a year and adds travel perks; most businesses will never need it, and the Capital on Tap Pro page does the break-even arithmetic for those that might.

Who should choose which

You areChooseWhy
A Ltd or LLP, with or without staffCapital on Tap£0 annual fee; unlimited free employee cards; 0% non-sterling transaction fee; 1% cashback with no threshold
A Ltd wanting a free card with a published APRiwoca£0 fee; 35.40% APR representative (variable); rates from 14.99%
A sole traderBarclaycard Select Cashback£0 fee; sole traders accepted; 1% cashback, uncapped, but only in months when you spend more than £2,000
A Metro Bank customer who spends in EuropeMetro Bank Business Credit Card£0 fee; 0% in SEPA Europe; 2.99% elsewhere
A high-street bank customer spending enough to clear the waiverYour bank’s cardOne relationship; fee waived in year one and above a spend level on several cards
An Amex points collectorAmerican Express Business Gold£0 in year one, then £195

For a limited company or LLP, Capital on Tap is free in the ways that matter: no annual fee, no charge for staff cards, no foreign transaction fee, and cashback with no threshold. It is the card I use. It is not available to sole traders, so if that is you, read the sole trader guide and the Barclaycard Select Cashback review. Every card, on every measure, is in the business credit cards comparison.

Frequently asked questions

Which UK business credit cards have no annual fee?

In our data: Capital on Tap (£0 annual fee), Barclaycard Select Cashback, Metro Bank Business Credit Card, Zempler Bank Business Credit Card, Funding Circle Cashback Business Credit Card and iwoca Credit Card. Several bank cards are free in year one or waive their fee above a spending level, including NatWest Business Credit Card, Lloyds Bank Business Credit Card, HSBC Commercial Card, Virgin Money Business Credit Card and Bank of Scotland Business Credit Card.

Is Capital on Tap really free?

The standard card has £0 annual fee, unlimited free employee cards, 0% non-sterling transaction fee and £0 ATM fee. You pay interest only if you do not clear the balance: there is no interest on purchases if you pay the statement balance in full by the due date, and interest on cash withdrawals from the day you take them. Capital on Tap advertises rates as low as 13.86% APR (variable) and does not publish a representative APR. A paid tier, Pro, costs £299 a year, but it is optional.

Do business credit cards charge for employee cards?

Many bank cards do, per card. NatWest’s fee is £30 per card; free in year one and waived with £6,000+ annual spend; Lloyds’ is £32 per cardholder; free for the first 12 months and waived with £6,000+ annual spend; HSBC’s employee cards are £32 per card after year one; NatWest Business Plus charges £70 a year per cardholder. Capital on Tap offers unlimited free employee cards, and Funding Circle’s are unlimited and free (a feature Funding Circle labels Beta); only a director can issue them.

Can a sole trader get a business credit card with no annual fee?

Yes: Barclaycard Select Cashback, Metro Bank Business Credit Card and Zempler Bank Business Credit Card accept sole traders. Barclaycard Select pays 1% cashback, uncapped, but only in months when you spend more than £2,000. Metro needs its current account and pays no rewards. Capital on Tap, iwoca and Funding Circle are for companies only.

Do the bank cards waive their annual fee?

Some do. NatWest: £30 per card; free in year one and waived with £6,000+ annual spend. Lloyds: £32 per cardholder; free for the first 12 months and waived with £6,000+ annual spend. HSBC: £32 per card, waived in year one. Virgin Money: £0 in year one, then £28 per card. The pages do not make clear whether a spend waiver is tested per card or across the account, so ask before ordering cards for people who spend little.

Sources

  1. Capital on Tap Business Credit Card page
  2. Capital on Tap FAQ
  3. Capital on Tap homepage
  4. Capital on Tap Revolving Credit Facility Agreement
  5. Capital on Tap Rewards Terms and Conditions (source last updated 8 June 2026)
  6. Capital on Tap: Business credit card rates and fees (guide, 22 April 2026) (source last updated 22 April 2026)
  7. Capital on Tap Pro page
  8. Capital on Tap Refer a Friend Programme terms (source last updated 29 April 2025)
  9. American Express Business Gold: product page (American Express Services Europe Limited)
  10. American Express Business Platinum: product page (American Express Services Europe Limited)
  11. British Airways Amex Accelerating Business: product page (American Express Services Europe Limited)
  12. Barclaycard Select Cashback: product page (Barclays Bank PLC)
  13. Barclaycard Premium Plus: product page (Barclays Bank PLC)
  14. NatWest Business Credit Card: product page (National Westminster Bank plc)
  15. NatWest Business Plus Credit Card: product page (National Westminster Bank plc)
  16. Lloyds Bank Business Credit Card: product page (Lloyds Bank plc)
  17. HSBC Commercial Card: product page (HSBC UK Bank plc)
  18. Santander Business Cashback Credit Card: product page (Santander UK plc)
  19. Metro Bank Business Credit Card: product page (Metro Bank PLC)
  20. Zempler Bank Business Credit Card: product page (Zempler Bank Limited)
  21. Funding Circle Cashback Business Credit Card: product page (Issued by Monavate Ltd (EMI, FRN 901097) for Funding Circle)
  22. Virgin Money Business Credit Card: product page (Nationwide Building Society (trading as Virgin Money))
  23. The Co-operative Bank Business Credit Card: product page (The Co-operative Bank p.l.c.)
  24. Bank of Scotland Business Credit Card: product page (Bank of Scotland plc)
  25. iwoca Credit Card: product page (Issued by Enfuce UK Limited (FRN 993783) for iwoca Ltd)
  26. Barclaycard Premium Plus: summary box (annual fee)

Figures last checked 28 October 2026. If something has changed, tell us and we will correct it.