Skip to content
UK BusinessCredit Cards

Business credit cards with no foreign transaction fee (UK): who charges 0%, and what 3% costs

By Chris

Most UK business credit cards add a fee of around 3% to anything you buy in another currency, and that includes US software, ad platforms and hosting paid from your desk, not just spending abroad. A handful charge nothing. This page lists every card and account in our data by its non-sterling fee, from the issuers’ own pages checked on 15 September 2026, and shows what the fee costs a year.

The short list

  • Limited company or LLP with any dollar or euro spend: Capital on Tap. 0% non-sterling transaction fee, £0 annual fee, and the 1% cashback applies to foreign-currency spend as well, so your US software earns cashback instead of costing a surcharge. It is the card I use.
  • Limited company that wants a second 0% option with a published APR: iwoca (0% (Visa exchange rate), £0 a year, 35.40% APR representative (variable); rates from 14.99%).
  • Established limited company: Funding Circle (0%, £0 a year), whose eligibility is limited companies only; at least one year trading; £30,000+ turnover.
  • Sole trader who banks with NatWest or Santander: NatWest Business Plus (0% on purchases; £70 per card) or Santander Business Cashback (0% on purchases in the local currency; £30 a year).
  • Mostly euro spend: Metro Bank (0% in SEPA Europe; 2.99% elsewhere) if you bank there; Virgin Money charges 2.95% (not charged on euro, Swedish krona or Romanian leu spend in the UK or EEA).
  • Sole trader with no suitable bank card: Barclaycard Premium Plus at 0.99%, or a business debit card with no fee if you do not need credit.

0% business credit cards

These charge nothing on non-sterling purchases, though several with conditions: read the fee column in full. Capital on Tap is first because it is the card we use. Tide’s business credit card is Capital on Tap’s card brokered by Tide, so it is not listed separately.

UK business credit cards with a 0% non-sterling fee
CardNon-sterling feeCash withdrawalsAnnual feeSole tradersEligibility
Capital on TapNew Wave Capital Limited · the card we useApplyTakes you to capitalontap.com · Referral link0% non-sterling transaction fee£0 ATM fee; interest on cash withdrawals from the day you take them£0 annual feeNoLtd, LLP or PLC; £24,000 minimum annual turnover; no minimum trading history
Funding Circle Cashback Business Credit CardIssued by Monavate Ltd (EMI, FRN 901097) for Funding Circle0%Cash withdrawals not permitted£0NoLimited companies only; at least one year trading; £30,000+ turnover
iwoca Credit CardIssued by Enfuce UK Limited (FRN 993783) for iwoca Ltd0% (Visa exchange rate)Cash withdrawals not available£0NoUK limited company (the FAQ also says partnership), registered at Companies House
NatWest Business Plus Credit CardNational Westminster Bank plc0% on purchasesNot stated in our data£70 per cardYesNatWest business current account required; turnover up to £2 million
Santander Business Cashback Credit CardSantander UK plc0% on purchases in the local currency3% (min £3); cash interest rate 27.9%£30YesExisting Santander business current account; sole trader, partnership, LLP or Ltd with up to two partners or directors. Limits £500 to £25,000
Metro Bank Business Credit CardMetro Bank PLC0% in SEPA Europe; 2.99% elsewhereFree in Europe; 2.99% + £1.50 elsewhere£0YesMetro Bank business or commercial current account required

Three of the 6 are specialist lenders for limited companies: Capital on Tap, iwoca and Funding Circle. Capital on Tap is not a bank, so the business bank account it asks for is one you already hold, and Funding Circle says outright: no need to switch your business banking. All three pair 0% FX with 1% cashback and no annual fee, which makes them the best value for a company with overseas suppliers. The difference between Capital on Tap and Funding Circle on everything else is covered in Capital on Tap vs Funding Circle. The other 3, NatWest Business Plus Credit Card, Santander Business Cashback Credit Card and Metro Bank Business Credit Card, accept sole traders but need their bank’s business current account, and each has a catch in the small print: NatWest Business Plus costs £70 per card; Santander’s is 0% on purchases in the local currency, with a fee of £30; and Metro is 0% in SEPA Europe; 2.99% elsewhere, which rules it out for most US software.

Low-fee and typical cards

Barclaycard Premium Plus is the only card in our data with a reduced fee: 0.99%, on a card that costs £150 per account. It suits a business that travels, wants the bundled travel insurance and can use a sole-trader-friendly card, rather than one that simply wants to avoid FX fees.

UK business cards with a reduced non-sterling fee
CardNon-sterling feeCash withdrawalsAnnual feeSole tradersEligibility
Barclaycard Premium PlusBarclays Bank PLC0.99%3% (min £3), plus 0.99% if non-sterling£150 per accountYesTurnover £10,000 to £6.5 million

Everything else charges between 2.75% and 2.99%. That includes the free Barclaycard Select Cashback (2.99%), every American Express card and most high-street bank cards. Where an issuer’s own pages disagree we say so: for Bank of Scotland we show 2.95%, but the fees table says 2.95%; a comparison note on the same page refers to 2.75%. Virgin Money waives its fee in one case: 2.95% (not charged on euro, Swedish krona or Romanian leu spend in the UK or EEA).

UK business cards with a typical non-sterling fee
CardNon-sterling feeCash withdrawalsAnnual feeSole tradersEligibility
American Express Business GoldAmerican Express Services Europe Limited2.99%Stated in the benefit terms on the product page3% (min £3) where cash access is enabled£0 in year one, then £195NoLtd or LLP only; director or member; £20,000+ personal income. Sole traders are not eligible
American Express Business PlatinumAmerican Express Services Europe Limited2.99%Amex UK general statementNot stated in our data£650NoLtd or LLP only; £35,000+ personal income. Sole traders are not eligible
British Airways Amex Accelerating BusinessAmerican Express Services Europe Limited2.99%Amex UK general statementNot stated in our data£250YesSole traders and small businesses with a UK business bank account; £20,000+ personal income
Barclaycard Select CashbackBarclays Bank PLC2.99%3% (min £3), plus 2.99% if non-sterling£0YesBusiness owner or director, UK-based, turnover £10,000 to £6.5 million; sole traders accepted
HSBC Commercial CardHSBC UK Bank plc2.99%2.99% (min £3)£32 per card, waived in year oneYesHSBC business current account required
Zempler Bank Business Credit CardZempler Bank Limited2.99%3% in the UK; £3 at foreign ATMs£0YesSole traders accepted
NatWest Business Credit CardNational Westminster Bank plc2.95%3% (min £3)£30 per card; free in year one and waived with £6,000+ annual spendYesExisting NatWest business current account in the same legal entity; turnover up to £2 million
Lloyds Bank Business Credit CardLloyds Bank plc2.95%2.5% (min £2.50)£32 per cardholder; free for the first 12 months and waived with £6,000+ annual spendYesExisting Lloyds business current account holder; sole trader, partner or director. Limits up to £25,000
Virgin Money Business Credit CardNationwide Building Society (trading as Virgin Money)2.95% (not charged on euro, Swedish krona or Romanian leu spend in the UK or EEA)3% (min £3)£0 in year one, then £28 per cardYesVirgin Money business current account required; trading for at least 12 months
Bank of Scotland Business Credit CardBank of Scotland plc2.95%The fees table says 2.95%; a comparison note on the same page refers to 2.75%.2.5% (min £2.50)£32 per cardholder; free for cards added in the first 12 months and waived with £6,000+ annual spendYesExisting Bank of Scotland business current account holder; sole trader, partner or director
The Co-operative Bank Business Credit CardThe Co-operative Bank p.l.c.2.75%3% (min £3), plus 2.75% if non-sterling£24Not statedCo-operative Bank business account holder required (closing it closes the card)

Debit and expense card alternatives

If you do not need credit, a business current account card can avoid the fee too. Starling charges 0%, Mastercard rate. Monzo charges 0% on card spend. Revolut Business uses the interbank rate within a monthly allowance (Basic £1,000, Grow £15,000, Scale £60,000), then 0.6%; +1% outside market hours. Wise is often described as fee-free, but it is not: it uses the mid-market rate plus a conversion fee from 0.24%; free to spend a currency you already hold. The catch is that you are mostly spending money already in the account, so there is usually no credit to smooth cash flow and, in every case here, no rewards. The trade-offs are in business credit card vs debit card, and the closest comparison with the card we use is Capital on Tap vs Revolut Business.

UK business debit and expense cards: non-sterling fees
CardNon-sterling feeCash withdrawalsAnnual feeSole tradersEligibility
Revolut BusinessRevolut Bank UK Ltd (FRN 981170) / Revolut Ltd (EMI, FRN 900562)Interbank rate within a monthly allowance (Basic £1,000, Grow £15,000, Scale £60,000), then 0.6%; +1% outside market hours2% per ATM withdrawalPlans: Basic £10, Grow from £30, Scale from £90 a monthYesSole traders and companies
PleoPleo Financial Services UK Ltd (EMI, FRN 1020730)2.00% / 1.75% / 1.49% by plan£5 per withdrawal on Start; free on Build and OptimiseStart £8, Build £14, Optimise £18 per user per month (Build and Optimise billed yearly, 3-user minimum)YesCompanies of any size; priced per user
Monzo BusinessMonzo Bank Limited0% on card spendNot stated in our dataLite free; Pro £9 a month; Team from £25 a monthYesSole traders and limited companies
Starling BusinessStarling Bank Limited0%, Mastercard rateNot stated in our data£0 account feeYesSole traders and limited companies
Wise Business cardWise Payments Limited (EMI, FRN 900507)Mid-market rate plus a conversion fee from 0.24%; free to spend a currency you already holdFree up to £250 a month, then 2.69%No subscription; one-off £50 set-up fee for full account featuresYesSole traders, freelancers, limited and public companies

The fee is not only for travel

People think of foreign transaction fees as a holiday problem. For a small UK business they are mostly a desk problem. The fee is charged on any card transaction in a currency other than sterling, wherever you are when you make it. Many US software companies bill UK customers in dollars. Ad platforms bill in whatever currency the account was set up in. Hosting, domain registrars, stock libraries, freelance marketplaces and conference tickets are frequently priced in dollars or euros. Each of those payments carries the fee on a typical card, month after month, without anyone noticing, because it appears as a separate small line or is folded into the converted amount.

Two practical habits help. First, look at your last few statements for non-sterling transactions; most businesses are surprised by how many there are. Second, put overseas subscriptions on a 0% card, ideally on their own virtual card so each can be cancelled or capped independently. Capital on Tap offers instant virtual cards; how we set it up is in virtual cards for subscriptions.

What a foreign transaction fee costs a year

The arithmetic is simple and still surprising. At 2.99%, the fee on £500 a month of non-sterling spend is £179.40 a year; on £2,000 a month, £717.60; on £5,000 a month, £1,794.00. Here is every card in our FX fee data at the same three levels.

Illustrative annual cost of non-sterling fees at three monthly spend levels
CardFee£500 a monthcost a year£2,000 a monthcost a year£5,000 a monthcost a year
HSBC Commercial Card2.99%£179.40£717.60£1,794.00
Barclaycard Select Cashback2.99%£179.40£717.60£1,794.00
American Express business cards2.99%£179.40£717.60£1,794.00
NatWest Business Credit Card2.95%£177.00£708.00£1,770.00
Lloyds Business Credit Card2.95%£177.00£708.00£1,770.00
Virgin Money Business Credit CardNot charged on euro spend in the UK or EEA2.95%£177.00£708.00£1,770.00
Typical high-street business debit cardNatWest, Lloyds, HSBC and Barclays business debit cards all charge 2.75%2.75%£165.00£660.00£1,650.00
Co-operative Bank Business Credit Card2.75%£165.00£660.00£1,650.00
Pleo (Start plan)2%£120.00£480.00£1,200.00
Barclaycard Premium Plus0.99%£59.40£237.60£594.00
Revolut Business (above allowance)0% within the plan's monthly allowance0.6%£36.00£144.00£360.00
iwoca Credit Card0%£0.00£0.00£0.00
Capital on Tap0%£0.00£0.00£0.00

Illustrative only: the fee percentage multiplied by twelve months of non-sterling spend. It leaves out the exchange rate itself, which applies on every card, and any cashback earned.

Put the fee next to cashback and the picture is starker. A card paying 1% cashback and charging 2.99% on non-sterling spend loses about two pounds for every pound it gives back on that spend. A 0% card that pays 1% cashback, as Capital on Tap does, turns the same spend from a cost into a small gain. The FX fee calculator takes your own figures, and the cashback cards comparison shows the other half of the sum.

Always pay in the local currency

When a card terminal abroad, a cash machine or an overseas website offers to charge you in pounds, it is offering dynamic currency conversion. The conversion is done by the merchant’s payment provider at a rate it chooses, which usually includes a margin well above the card scheme’s rate. It is presented as a convenience, and the screen may even promise “no commission”, but the cost is in the rate.

On a 0% card, choosing pounds is the worst option: the transaction reaches your card already converted, at the merchant’s rate, and the card’s 0% has nothing left to save you. The rule is always to choose the local currency, whether that is euros at a hotel desk or dollars at an American checkout, and let your card do the conversion.

A 0% fee still means an exchange rate

No card converts currency for free in the sense of giving you the rate you see on the news. A 0% card means the issuer adds no fee on top of the card scheme’s exchange rate. Capital on Tap cards run on Visa, and iwoca’s fee is 0% (Visa exchange rate). Santander says purchases are converted at the Mastercard exchange rate; Starling’s fee is 0%, Mastercard rate. Visa and Mastercard rates are close to the wholesale rate but not identical to it, and they move daily. Wise is the exception that works the other way: the mid-market rate plus a conversion fee from 0.24%; free to spend a currency you already hold. What the 0% cards remove is the extra percentage on top, which is the part worth avoiding.

Cash withdrawals abroad are a separate charge

A 0% non-sterling fee usually covers purchases. Cash is treated differently on nearly every card. Capital on Tap charges £0 ATM fee, but interest on cash withdrawals from the day you take them, with no interest-free period, and you can make two withdrawals and £400 in any 24 hours. Neither iwoca nor Funding Circle allows cash at all (cash withdrawals not available; cash withdrawals not permitted). Santander charges 3% (min £3); cash interest rate 27.9%. Barclaycard Premium Plus charges 3% (min £3), plus 0.99% if non-sterling. If you need local cash on a trip, a debit card is usually cheaper than any credit card. Every Capital on Tap charge is listed on the Capital on Tap fees page.

Who should choose which

You areChooseWhy
A Ltd or LLP paying for US software, ads or hostingCapital on Tap0% non-sterling transaction fee; £0 annual fee; 1% cashback on that spend too
A Ltd wanting a 0% card with a published APRiwoca0% (Visa exchange rate); 35.40% APR representative (variable); rates from 14.99%
A sole trader who banks with NatWestNatWest Business Plus0% on purchases; £70 per card
A sole trader who banks with SantanderSantander Business Cashback0% on purchases in the local currency; £30 a year
A frequent traveller wanting insurance bundledBarclaycard Premium Plus0.99%; £150 per account
A business that does not need creditA debit account such as Starling or Monzo0%, Mastercard rate (Starling); 0% on card spend (Monzo)

If you run a limited company or LLP and any of your card spend is in dollars or euros, a 0% card is the single easiest saving available, and Capital on Tap is the one I use: no FX fee, no annual fee and cashback on the same spend. If you are a sole trader it is not available to sole traders; the sole trader guide and the Barclaycard Select Cashback review are the places to start. Every card we track, on every measure, is on the business credit cards comparison.

Frequently asked questions

Which UK business credit cards have no foreign transaction fee?

In our data: Capital on Tap (0% non-sterling transaction fee), Funding Circle Cashback Business Credit Card (0%), iwoca Credit Card (0% (Visa exchange rate)), NatWest Business Plus Credit Card (0% on purchases), Santander Business Cashback Credit Card (0% on purchases in the local currency), Metro Bank Business Credit Card (0% in SEPA Europe; 2.99% elsewhere). Read the qualifiers: Santander’s 0% applies to purchases in the local currency, NatWest Business Plus’s to purchases, and Metro’s only in SEPA Europe. Most other business cards charge between 2.75% and 2.99%.

Does Capital on Tap charge a foreign transaction fee?

No. It charges 0% non-sterling transaction fee and has £0 ATM fee, at home or abroad. Cash withdrawals are still expensive in another way: interest on cash withdrawals from the day you take them, and you can make two withdrawals and £400 in any 24 hours. The card is for a Ltd, LLP or PLC and is not available to sole traders.

Does the foreign transaction fee apply to online purchases?

Yes. The fee is triggered by the currency of the transaction, not by where you are standing. A subscription billed in dollars by a US software company, an advertising account billed in dollars or euro hosting all attract it. On £500 a month of that spend, a 2.99% fee is about £179.40 a year.

Should I pay in pounds or the local currency abroad?

The local currency. When a card terminal, cash machine or checkout offers to charge you in pounds, that is dynamic currency conversion: the merchant’s provider sets the exchange rate, and it is usually worse than the card scheme’s. Choosing pounds also throws away the benefit of a 0% card, because the conversion has already happened before the card sees it.

Is there a no-FX-fee business credit card for sole traders?

Yes, but they are bank cards that need the bank’s current account: NatWest Business Plus Credit Card (0% on purchases; £70 per card a year), Santander Business Cashback Credit Card (0% on purchases in the local currency; £30 a year), Metro Bank Business Credit Card (0% in SEPA Europe; 2.99% elsewhere; £0 a year). Capital on Tap, iwoca and Funding Circle are for companies only. If you do not bank with those, Barclaycard Premium Plus charges 0.99% for £150 per account a year, or a debit card such as Starling (0%, Mastercard rate) avoids the fee without credit.

Sources

  1. Capital on Tap FAQ
  2. Capital on Tap homepage
  3. Capital on Tap Revolving Credit Facility Agreement
  4. Capital on Tap Business Credit Card page
  5. Capital on Tap Help Centre: Eligibility criteria for a Capital on Tap card
  6. Capital on Tap: Business credit card rates and fees (guide, 22 April 2026) (source last updated 22 April 2026)
  7. Capital on Tap Refer a Friend Programme terms (source last updated 29 April 2025)
  8. Funding Circle Cashback Business Credit Card: product page (Issued by Monavate Ltd (EMI, FRN 901097) for Funding Circle)
  9. iwoca Credit Card: product page (Issued by Enfuce UK Limited (FRN 993783) for iwoca Ltd)
  10. NatWest Business Plus Credit Card: product page (National Westminster Bank plc)
  11. Santander Business Cashback Credit Card: product page (Santander UK plc)
  12. Metro Bank Business Credit Card: product page (Metro Bank PLC)
  13. Barclaycard Premium Plus: product page (Barclays Bank PLC)
  14. American Express Business Gold: product page (American Express Services Europe Limited)
  15. American Express Business Platinum: product page (American Express Services Europe Limited)
  16. British Airways Amex Accelerating Business: product page (American Express Services Europe Limited)
  17. Barclaycard Select Cashback: product page (Barclays Bank PLC)
  18. HSBC Commercial Card: product page (HSBC UK Bank plc)
  19. Zempler Bank Business Credit Card: product page (Zempler Bank Limited)
  20. NatWest Business Credit Card: product page (National Westminster Bank plc)
  21. Lloyds Bank Business Credit Card: product page (Lloyds Bank plc)
  22. Virgin Money Business Credit Card: product page (Nationwide Building Society (trading as Virgin Money))
  23. Bank of Scotland Business Credit Card: product page (Bank of Scotland plc)
  24. The Co-operative Bank Business Credit Card: product page (The Co-operative Bank p.l.c.)
  25. Revolut Business: product page (Revolut Bank UK Ltd (FRN 981170) / Revolut Ltd (EMI, FRN 900562))
  26. Pleo: product page (Pleo Financial Services UK Ltd (EMI, FRN 1020730))
  27. Monzo Business: product page (Monzo Bank Limited)
  28. Starling Business: product page (Starling Bank Limited)
  29. Wise Business card: product page (Wise Payments Limited (EMI, FRN 900507))
  30. Non-sterling fee source: Barclaycard Premium Plus
  31. Non-sterling fee source: American Express Business Platinum
  32. Non-sterling fee source: Zempler Bank Business Credit Card
  33. Non-sterling fee source: Monzo Business
  34. Non-sterling fee source: Starling Business
  35. Non-sterling fee source: Wise Business card

Figures last checked 28 October 2026. If something has changed, tell us and we will correct it.