Capital on Tap vs iwoca Credit Card: two free 1% cards, compared line by line
By Chris
The iwoca Credit Card is the closest like-for-like rival to Capital on Tap: no annual fee, 1% cashback, no foreign exchange fee and limits up to the same ceiling. The differences are in the detail: a representative APR that iwoca publishes and Capital on Tap does not, cash withdrawals, staff cards, Apple Pay, accounting sync and what you can do with the cashback. We hold both cards: iwoca gave us four times the limit, and Apple Pay and accounting sync are where it has annoyed us.
At a glance
The iwoca Credit Card launched in 2026. It has a £0 annual fee, pays 1% cashback on all spending, credited to the balance, charges 0% (Visa exchange rate) on non-sterling spend, offers a credit limit up to £250,000 and up to 42 days interest-free. iwoca states 35.40% APR representative (variable); rates from 14.99%. It is for a UK limited company (the FAQ also says partnership), registered at Companies House. Cash withdrawals: cash withdrawals not available.
Capital on Tap’s free card has a £0 annual fee, earns 1 point per £1 with no threshold, charges 0% non-sterling transaction fee, and gives you unlimited free employee cards with per-card limits. It accepts a Ltd, LLP or PLC with no minimum trading history. It advertises rates as low as 13.86% APR (variable) and does not publish a representative APR. I have used it for a few years in my small agency on the free tier. We took out the iwoca card after this site launched. What we say first-hand about it is limited: iwoca gave us a credit limit four times our Capital on Tap limit, and we use it for larger purchases; it has no Apple Pay; and its transactions do not come into Xero automatically. Otherwise nothing about it has stood out either way. The rest of the iwoca side is from iwoca’s own product page, FAQ and card terms, checked on 28 October 2026.
- You want a representative APR and a stated interest-free period before you apply: iwoca.
- You are a partnership rather than a company: iwoca’s FAQ includes partnerships; Capital on Tap does not.
- You are an LLP or PLC, or the company is brand new: Capital on Tap states it takes you; iwoca does not say.
- Several people spend, or you want Apple Pay, cash access, an automatic Xero or QuickBooks feed, or Avios: Capital on Tap.
Side by side
| Feature | Capital on TapFree card | iwoca Credit Card |
|---|---|---|
| Annual fee | £0 annual fee | £0 |
| Interest / representative APR | as low as 13.86% APR (variable); no representative APR published | 35.40% APR representative (variable); rates from 14.99% |
| Interest-free period | no interest on purchases if you pay the statement balance in full by the due date | Up to 42 days |
| Rewards | 1 point per £1 (1% cashback), uncapped | 1% cashback on all spending, credited to the balance |
| How rewards can be used | balance credit, cash, gift cards, Avios, Virgin Points or Radisson Rewards | Applied automatically to your account, reducing the outstanding balance |
| Welcome bonus | 7,500 points (£75) via a referral link, after a first transaction | None stated |
| Non-sterling fee | 0% non-sterling transaction fee | 0% (Visa exchange rate) |
| Cash withdrawals | £0 ATM fee; interest on cash withdrawals from the day you take them | Cash withdrawals not available |
| Late payment fee | £0 charge for missing the minimum payment | No FX, annual or late payment fees |
| Minimum payment | the greater of 10% of the balance or £100 | At least 10% of the outstanding balance or £100, whichever is higher (the full balance if it is under £100) |
| Employee cards | unlimited free employee cards with per-card limits | Not stated on iwoca’s card pages |
| Accounting sync | Sage, Xero, QuickBooks, FreeAgent and more, syncs every 12 hours | Not stated; on our card, a manual download and import into Xero |
| Mobile wallets | Works with Apple Pay and Google Pay | Google Pay; no Apple Pay on our card |
| Eligibility | Ltd, LLP or PLC; no minimum trading history; £24,000 minimum annual turnover | UK limited company (the FAQ also says partnership), registered at Companies House |
| Sole traders | not available to sole traders | Not accepted |
| Personal guarantee | personal guarantee required | Yes |
| Application search | soft search on your personal credit file when you apply | Apply online in about five minutes; instant decision; a soft search on your personal credit file that iwoca says does not affect your personal credit score |
| Credit limit | up to £250,000; starting limits can be modest | Up to £250,000 |
| Network | Visa | Visa; Google Pay is supported |
| Card issuer | New Wave Capital Limited (trading as Capital on Tap) | Issued by Enfuce UK Limited (FRN 993783) for iwoca Ltd |
| ApplyTakes you to capitalontap.com · Referral link |
iwoca figures are from its card page, FAQ and the Enfuce card terms it links to. Capital on Tap figures are from its card page, FAQ, rewards terms and credit agreement. “Not stated on iwoca’s card pages” means we could not find it on iwoca’s pages, not that the feature is definitely missing.
Cashback: same rate, different uses
Both cards pay 1% on everyday spend with no cap and no monthly threshold. On a company spending £4,000 a month, that is £48,000 a year and about £480 back on either card. Neither has an intro rate, which is where the Funding Circle Cashback card differs.
The difference is what the 1% becomes. iwoca says its cashback is applied automatically to your account, reducing the outstanding balance. It is a discount on the bill, applied for you. Capital on Tap pays points worth 1 point = 1p (1,000 points = £10), which you can take as balance credit, cash, gift cards, Avios, Virgin Points or Radisson Rewards. Cash to a bank account has a £10 minimum for cash to a bank account. On the free card, points convert at 10 points = 8 Avios on the free card, so the same £48,000 would become about 38,400 Avios if you chose that route; the Avios guide explains whether that beats the cash.
If all you want is money off the card bill, the two are equal. If you want the option of cash in the bank, airline points or a statement credit when cash flow is tight, Capital on Tap is more flexible. There is also Capital on Tap’s referral bonus, 7,500 points (£75), for a new customer who applies through a referral link and makes a first transaction; iwoca’s page states no welcome offer. The Capital on Tap rewards page covers the rounding, expiry and exclusions.
Interest, APR and the 42 days
This is iwoca’s clearest advantage. It publishes its rate in the standard format: 35.40% APR representative (variable); rates from 14.99%. It also states the interest-free window precisely: a 30-day billing cycle plus a 12-day grace period; pay the statement balance in full by the due date to pay no interest. A purchase on day one of the cycle gets the full window; one on the last day gets the 12-day grace period.
Capital on Tap advertises rates as low as 13.86% APR (variable). Capital on Tap does not publish a representative APR on its website. Your rate depends on your personal and business credit history and the Bank of England base rate, and you see it after the soft search. Its credit agreement says there is no interest on purchases if you pay the statement balance in full by the due date, but it does not put a number of days on that. We do not repeat third-party representative APR figures for Capital on Tap, because the ones in circulation contradict each other.
Two cautions. A representative APR is what most accepted customers are offered, so it is a guide, not your rate; iwoca’s starting rate and its representative figure are a long way apart. And if you clear the card in full each month, neither rate applies. For a company that might borrow on the card, iwoca gives you a number to compare against other lenders before you apply, and that is a fair point in its favour. For everyone else, the guide to avoiding interest matters more than the rate.
Eligibility: LLPs, partnerships and new companies
Neither card takes sole traders. Beyond that, they draw the line in different places.
Capital on Tap asks for a Ltd, LLP or PLC, active on Companies House, with £24,000 minimum annual turnover, no unsatisfied CCJs in the last 12 months, applied for by an active UK director or a shareholder with 25% or more. There is no minimum trading history.
iwoca’s product page asks that you are based in the UK and are the director of a limited company. Its FAQ is broader: the business must be based in the UK and be a limited company or a partnership. iwoca does not state a minimum trading history or turnover on its card page.
So the practical split is this. A partnership should look at iwoca, because Capital on Tap will not take it. An LLP or PLC can apply to Capital on Tap with confidence; iwoca’s pages do not mention either. A company incorporated last month knows where it stands with Capital on Tap and would need to ask iwoca. Our startup cards page covers what a young company can realistically expect.
Abroad and cash withdrawals
On non-sterling spend they are level. Capital on Tap charges 0% non-sterling transaction fee; iwoca charges 0% (Visa exchange rate), and its card terms confirm no additional fee on foreign-currency transactions. Both earn 1% on foreign spend too. For US software, cloud hosting or overseas travel, both beat the close-to-3% fees most high-street cards charge; the no foreign transaction fee cards page lists the rest.
Cash is different. iwoca’s FAQ says you cannot withdraw cash yet, and the card terms list ATM withdrawals as not enabled. Capital on Tap allows them with a £0 ATM fee, limited to two withdrawals and £400 in any 24 hours. That is a convenience, not a cheap loan: there is interest on cash withdrawals from the day you take them, and no points on cash withdrawals or fees. But if you travel and occasionally need local cash, only one of these cards can provide it.
Repayments and fees
Here the two are strikingly similar. Capital on Tap’s minimum payment is the greater of 10% of the balance or £100; iwoca’s is at least 10% of the outstanding balance or £100, whichever is higher (the full balance if it is under £100). Capital on Tap charges a £0 charge for missing the minimum payment; iwoca advertises no FX, annual or late payment fees. A missed payment still costs you on either card, through interest, your credit record and, on Capital on Tap, forfeited points.
The mechanics differ. iwoca says: monthly statement, then 12 days to pay; a Direct Debit must be set up. Capital on Tap lets you choose minimum, fixed amount or full balance, and adds Smart Repay: automatic Direct Debit or Open Banking repayments, including daily. It also offers Preloading: preloading lets you spend beyond your limit with your own money. I have used Preloading, and split large bills into several payments, to pay for more than my limit allowed. iwoca’s pages do not mention an equivalent.
Staff cards, accounting, Apple Pay and the app
Capital on Tap gives you unlimited free employee cards with per-card limits, plus instant virtual cards for subscriptions and one-off online purchases. It syncs to Sage, Xero, QuickBooks, FreeAgent and more, syncs every 12 hours. I use its extra cards for the agency’s spending, and the feed into Xero. The sync works well; transactions arrive with a slight delay, and it has never needed reconnecting.
iwoca’s card page and FAQ do not mention employee cards or accounting sync for the card. Its card terms cover physical and virtual card types and digital wallets if made available, and the product page says the card works with Google Pay and comes with an app with real-time spending information. iwoca does integrate with Xero, but its FAQ describes that for sharing data on loan applications and recording loan drawdowns, not for a card feed.
We have heard nothing from iwoca about adding Apple Pay or a Xero feed. If you have staff spending, pay by Apple Pay or reconcile in accounting software, ask iwoca whether that has changed before you apply. We will update this page if it does.
Credit limits
Both advertise the same ceiling: iwoca up to £250,000, Capital on Tap up to £250,000. A ceiling tells you little about what a small company will be offered on day one. My own Capital on Tap limit has been £12,000 since I opened the account. It was lower than I expected and it has not changed. I asked once by phone about an increase and was told there is a process for it to be considered. The credit limit page explains how Capital on Tap reviews limits. iwoca does not describe its card limit process on the pages we read, but it gave us a credit limit four times our Capital on Tap limit, so we use it for larger purchases and keep Capital on Tap for everyday spend. Two lenders looked at the same company and reached very different numbers. That is one data point, not a pattern, but if your Capital on Tap limit is holding you back, a second card from a lender with a different view of risk is worth an application; both use a soft search when you apply.
Who is behind each card
Neither is a bank, and neither asks you to move your business current account. On iwoca’s card, iwoca Ltd (company 07798925) provides the credit line; Enfuce UK Ltd, an e-money institution (FRN 993783), issues the Visa card. iwoca is best known for its Flexi-Loan, so a business that already borrows from it may like having card and loan with one lender. Capital on Tap is New Wave Capital Limited (trading as Capital on Tap), with FCA firm reference 625592 (consumer credit).
Neither card is covered by Section 75. Capital on Tap’s FAQ says Section 75 does not apply; iwoca’s says the same: Section 75 does not apply; disputes go through the merchant and, where possible, a Visa chargeback. Both cards are Visa, so chargeback through Visa’s process is the route for a dispute. For more on Capital on Tap’s background, see is Capital on Tap legit; our iwoca Credit Card review does the same for iwoca.
Who should choose which
What works
- Capital on Tap: £0 annual fee, 0% non-sterling transaction fee, LLPs and PLCs accepted, no minimum trading history, unlimited free employee cards, automatic accounting sync, Apple Pay and Google Pay, cash access, points convertible to Avios
- iwoca: £0 fee, 0% (Visa exchange rate) FX, our limit four times our Capital on Tap one, a published representative APR, a stated up to 42 days interest-free, partnerships named in its FAQ
What does not
- Capital on Tap: no representative APR published; starting credit limit can be modest; no sole traders or partnerships
- iwoca: no Apple Pay and no automatic Xero feed on our card; no cash withdrawals; cashback only reduces the balance; employee cards not stated; no sole traders
| You are | Choose | Why |
|---|---|---|
| A company that may carry a balance and wants the rate up front | iwoca | 35.40% APR representative (variable); rates from 14.99%; Capital on Tap publishes no representative APR |
| A partnership | iwoca | Its FAQ names partnerships; Capital on Tap takes a Ltd, LLP or PLC |
| An existing iwoca loan customer who wants one lender | iwoca | Card and loan in one relationship |
| A company whose Capital on Tap limit is too small for larger purchases | Both | iwoca gave us four times the limit; we use it for larger purchases and Capital on Tap for the rest |
| An LLP or PLC | Capital on Tap | Stated in its eligibility; iwoca’s pages do not mention them |
| A company with several people spending | Capital on Tap | unlimited free employee cards with per-card limits; virtual cards |
| A company that reconciles in Xero, QuickBooks, Sage or FreeAgent | Capital on Tap | Card feed syncs every 12 hours; on our iwoca card we import transactions by hand |
| Someone who pays with an iPhone or Apple Watch | Capital on Tap | Works with Apple Pay and Google Pay; iwoca mentions Google Pay only |
| A company that sometimes needs cash | Capital on Tap | £0 ATM fee (interest from day one); iwoca: none |
| An Avios or Virgin Points collector | Capital on Tap | Points convert to airline schemes; iwoca pays cashback only |
| A sole trader | Neither | See sole trader cards |
These two cards are closer than any other pair we compare. On fee, rate and foreign spend there is nothing between them. iwoca wins on transparency about borrowing costs, and it is the one to pick if you are a partnership or expect to carry a balance and want the representative APR in hand first. Capital on Tap wins on everything around the card: staff and virtual cards, the accounting feed, Apple Pay, cash access, Preloading and the choice of how to take your 1%. For a limited company that clears its balance monthly and has more than one person spending, that is where Capital on Tap earns its place. And they are not either/or: we run both, with iwoca’s larger limit for larger purchases and Capital on Tap for everything else.
Frequently asked questions
Is the iwoca Credit Card better than Capital on Tap?
On the basics they are level: £0 annual fee, 1% cashback and 0% (Visa exchange rate) on non-sterling spend for iwoca, against £0 annual fee, 1% cashback and 0% non-sterling transaction fee for Capital on Tap. iwoca publishes a representative APR and a 42-day interest-free figure. Capital on Tap adds cash withdrawals, free employee cards, accounting sync and more ways to use the cashback.
What is the representative APR on each card?
iwoca publishes one: 35.40% APR representative (variable); rates from 14.99%. Capital on Tap advertises rates as low as 13.86% APR (variable) and does not publish a representative APR; your rate depends on your personal and business credit history and the Bank of England base rate. If you expect to carry a balance and want a comparable figure before you apply, iwoca gives you one.
Can an LLP or a partnership get either card?
Capital on Tap accepts a Ltd, LLP or PLC, so an LLP can apply, but a general partnership cannot. iwoca’s product page asks for the director of a limited company, while its FAQ says a limited company or a partnership. If you are a partnership, iwoca is the one to ask; if you are an LLP, Capital on Tap states it plainly.
Can I withdraw cash on the iwoca Credit Card?
Not at the moment. iwoca’s FAQ says cash withdrawals are not available, though it hopes to add them, and the card terms list ATM withdrawals as not enabled. Capital on Tap allows them with a £0 ATM fee, limited to two withdrawals and £400 in any 24 hours, but charges interest on cash withdrawals from the day you take them and pays no points on cash withdrawals or fees.
Do both cards need a personal guarantee?
Yes. iwoca’s FAQ says most businesses, iwoca included, require a personal guarantee, and Capital on Tap says a personal guarantee required. Both run a soft search on your personal credit file when you apply. If the company cannot pay, the guarantor becomes personally responsible for the balance on either card.
Does the iwoca Credit Card have employee cards or Xero sync?
iwoca’s card page, FAQ and card terms did not mention employee cards or accounting sync for the card when we checked on 28 October 2026. We hold the card, and its transactions have not synced to Xero automatically, so we download them from iwoca and import them by hand. Capital on Tap offers unlimited free employee cards with per-card limits and syncs every 12 hours to Sage, Xero, QuickBooks, FreeAgent and more.
Does the iwoca Credit Card work with Apple Pay?
Not on the card we hold: the card does not work with Apple Pay. iwoca’s product page mentions Google Pay only. Capital on Tap’s FAQ says its card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay.
Which card is better for Avios?
Capital on Tap, because iwoca pays cashback only. Capital on Tap points convert at 10 points = 8 Avios on the free card and 10 points = 10 Avios on Pro, and can also go to Virgin Points or Radisson Rewards. If you only ever want cash off the bill, the two cards are worth the same at 1%.
Sources
- Capital on Tap Business Credit Card page
- Capital on Tap FAQ
- Capital on Tap homepage
- Capital on Tap Revolving Credit Facility Agreement
- Capital on Tap Rewards Terms and Conditions (source last updated 8 June 2026)
- Capital on Tap: Business credit card rates and fees (guide, 22 April 2026) (source last updated 22 April 2026)
- Capital on Tap Help Centre: Eligibility criteria for a Capital on Tap card
- Capital on Tap Refer a Friend Programme terms (source last updated 29 April 2025)
- iwoca Credit Card: product page and FAQ (iwoca)
- iwoca: Enfuce card terms and conditions
Figures last checked 28 October 2026. If something has changed, tell us and we will correct it.
Related reading
- iwoca reviewWe hold the iwoca Credit Card: four times our Capital on Tap limit, 1% cashback and 0% FX, but no Apple Pay and no automatic Xero feed. Who it suits.
- vs Funding CircleCapital on Tap against the Funding Circle Cashback Business Credit Card: the 2% intro rate, eligibility, APR, cash withdrawals and who each suits.
- AlternativesHonest Capital on Tap alternatives for sole traders, bank customers, Amex points collectors and anyone who needs a bigger limit, with every figure sourced.
- Best cardsThe best UK business credit cards compared on fees, rewards, FX and eligibility, with a clear view of who should choose something other than our pick.