Business credit cards with free employee cards: costs, caps and controls compared
By Chris · First published 22 September 2026
Giving staff their own cards ends the expense-claim shuffle, but the cost varies more than the headlines suggest: free and unlimited on some cards, capped at a handful on others, and charged per card, per year, on most bank cards. This page compares what each UK issuer charges, how many cards you can have, and who is liable for what staff spend, from the issuers’ own pages checked on 15 September 2026 and, for the newer entries, 22 September 2026.
The short answer
- A limited company or LLP with several people who spend: Capital on Tap. It offers unlimited free employee cards with per-card limits, with limits per billing period or per transaction, on a card with £0 annual fee. There is no fee to add a tenth card or a thirtieth.
- An established company that wants unlimited free cards and a different lender: Funding Circle also offers employee cards that are unlimited and free (it labels the feature Beta), but needs a year of trading.
- A director who wants Amex points on staff spend: American Express Business Gold, with up to 20 complimentary employee cards, on a charge card with an annual fee of £0 in year one, then £195.
- A sole trader: Barclaycard Select Cashback has free employee cards and accepts sole traders; so do several bank cards, for a fee per card.
- A business that wants receipts and approvals more than credit: an expense platform such as Pleo, priced per user; see Capital on Tap vs Pleo.
I use Capital on Tap’s additional cards in my own small agency, on the free tier, and I have used its accounting sync for a few years. I have not held the other cards on this page; their sections are research from the issuers’ pages.
Employee cards compared
Of the 19 cards below Capital on Tap, 7 describe employee cards as free or complimentary, and for 3 (Metro Bank Business Credit Card, Zempler Bank Business Credit Card, iwoca Credit Card) our data does not state the terms. “Free” can still sit on top of an annual fee for the main card or account, which is why that column is shown separately.
| Card | Employee cards (issuer’s wording) | Main card or account fee | Personal guarantee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Capital on TapNew Wave Capital Limited · the card we useApplyTakes you to capitalontap.com · Referral link | Unlimited free employee cards with per-card limits; limits per billing period or per transaction; plus instant virtual cards | £0 annual fee | Personal guarantee required |
| American Express Business GoldCharge card | Up to 20 complimentary, with limits you set; the main Cardmember is liable for their spending | £0 in year one, then £195 | Company liability supported by a personal guarantee applies to Employee Card charges |
| American Express Business PlatinumCharge card | Complimentary Business Gold employee cards plus one complimentary Platinum employee card | £650 | Not stated |
| British Airways Amex Accelerating BusinessCredit card | Complimentary | £250 | Not stated |
| Barclaycard Select CashbackCredit card | Free; administrators set each cardholder’s limit; number not stated | £0 | Not stated on the product page, guide or card terms |
| Barclaycard Premium PlusCredit card | Free | £150 per account | Not stated |
| PleoPrepaid / expense card | Priced per card or user: Start £8, Build £14, Optimise £18 per user per month (Build and Optimise billed yearly, 3-user minimum) | Start £8, Build £14, Optimise £18 per user per month (Build and Optimise billed yearly, 3-user minimum) | Not stated |
| NatWest Business Credit CardCredit card | Priced per card or user: £30 per card; free in year one and waived with £6,000+ annual spend | £30 per card; free in year one and waived with £6,000+ annual spend | Not stated |
| NatWest Business Plus Credit CardCredit card | £70 a year per cardholder | £70 per card | Not stated |
| Lloyds Bank Business Credit CardCredit card | Priced per card or user: £32 per cardholder; free for the first 12 months and waived with £6,000+ annual spend | £32 per cardholder; free for the first 12 months and waived with £6,000+ annual spend | Not stated |
| HSBC Commercial CardCredit card | £32 per card after year one | £32 per card, waived in year one | Not stated |
| Santander Business Cashback Credit CardCredit card | Up to 3 additional cardholders (4 cards in total), no extra fee; every director or partner must hold one | £30 | Required from all directors or members of a Ltd or LLP |
| Metro Bank Business Credit CardCredit card | Not stated in our data | £0 | Not stated |
| Zempler Bank Business Credit CardCredit card | Not stated in our data | £0 | Not stated |
| Funding Circle Cashback Business Credit CardCredit card | Unlimited and free (a feature Funding Circle labels Beta); only a director can issue them | £0 | Yes |
| Virgin Money Business Credit CardCredit card | Unlimited, each with its own limit; £28 a card after year one | £0 in year one, then £28 per card | May be required |
| The Co-operative Bank Business Credit CardCredit card | Additional cards on the same limit; cost not stated | £24 | Not stated |
| Bank of Scotland Business Credit CardCredit card | £32 per cardholder after year one (same spend waiver) | £32 per cardholder; free for cards added in the first 12 months and waived with £6,000+ annual spend | May be required for Ltd and LLP |
| iwoca Credit CardCredit card | Not stated in our data | £0 | Yes |
| Wise Business cardDebit card | £3 one-off per team card | No subscription; one-off £50 set-up fee for full account features | Not stated |
What 10 employee cards cost a year
Per-card fees look small on a product page. Multiplied across a team they are not. The table below takes each issuer’s stated employee-card price and works out the cost of 10 cards. It is illustrative, and the assumptions are listed on each row: where a bank waives its fee in the first year or above a spending threshold, we show the cost once the free year has ended and assume the waiver is not met. Account-level fees for the main card are not included; they are in the table above.
| Card | Cost of 10 employee cards | Assumptions | Based on |
|---|---|---|---|
| Capital on Tap | £0 | None: no cap stated | unlimited free employee cards |
| American Express Business Gold | £0 | Up to 20 allowed | Up to 20 complimentary, with limits you set; the main Cardmember is liable for their spending |
| American Express Business Platinum | £0 | Number of cards not stated in our data | Complimentary Business Gold employee cards plus one complimentary Platinum employee card |
| British Airways Amex Accelerating Business | £0 | Number of cards not stated in our data | Complimentary |
| Barclaycard Select Cashback | £0 | Number of cards not stated in our data | Free; administrators set each cardholder’s limit; number not stated |
| Barclaycard Premium Plus | £0 | Number of cards not stated in our data | Free |
| Pleo | £960 a year | Lowest plan price × 12 months × 10 users; the subscription is the cost of the cards | Priced per card or user: Start £8, Build £14, Optimise £18 per user per month (Build and Optimise billed yearly, 3-user minimum) |
| NatWest Business Credit Card | £300 a year | From year two (free in year one); Spend waiver not met | Priced per card or user: £30 per card; free in year one and waived with £6,000+ annual spend |
| NatWest Business Plus Credit Card | £700 a year | None | £70 a year per cardholder |
| Lloyds Bank Business Credit Card | £320 a year | From year two (free in year one); Spend waiver not met | Priced per card or user: £32 per cardholder; free for the first 12 months and waived with £6,000+ annual spend |
| HSBC Commercial Card | £320 a year | From year two (free in year one) | £32 per card after year one |
| Santander Business Cashback Credit Card | Not possible: up to 3 additional cards | None | Up to 3 additional cardholders (4 cards in total), no extra fee; every director or partner must hold one |
| Funding Circle Cashback Business Credit Card | £0 | None | Unlimited and free (a feature Funding Circle labels Beta); only a director can issue them |
| Virgin Money Business Credit Card | £280 a year | From year two (free in year one) | Unlimited, each with its own limit; £28 a card after year one |
| The Co-operative Bank Business Credit Card | Not stated | None | Additional cards on the same limit; cost not stated |
| Bank of Scotland Business Credit Card | £320 a year | From year two (free in year one) | £32 per cardholder after year one (same spend waiver) |
| Wise Business card | £30 one-off | None | £3 one-off per team card |
The spread is the point. Capital on Tap, Funding Circle, Barclaycard and American Express charge nothing for the cards themselves; the bank cards that charge per card run to hundreds of pounds a year for a team of 10; Santander simply cannot issue that many; and an expense platform priced per user costs the most, because the subscription is the product. Our list of free business credit cards covers the account fees too.
Capital on Tap’s employee cards
Capital on Tap’s card page puts it simply: “Unlimited, free employee cards”. Its FAQ adds: “Yes, you can have an unlimited number of employee cards on your account at no extra cost.” Controls are limits per billing period or per transaction, so you can give a junior member of staff a small per-transaction cap and a manager a larger monthly one. Alongside the physical cards it offers instant virtual cards, which suit software subscriptions: one virtual card per supplier means you can cut one off without disrupting the rest. Our guide to virtual cards for subscriptions explains the set-up.
Employee spend sits on the company’s account and syncs to Sage, Xero, QuickBooks, FreeAgent and more, syncs every 12 hours. The account is the company’s, so there is one statement and one repayment; Capital on Tap charges no interest on purchases if you pay the statement balance in full by the due date. It advertises rates as low as 13.86% APR (variable) and does not publish a representative APR. It takes a Ltd, LLP or PLC and is not available to sole traders.
American Express and Barclaycard
American Express Business Gold: Up to 20 complimentary, with limits you set; the main Cardmember is liable for their spending. The card itself costs £0 in year one, then £195, and it is a charge card, so the whole balance, staff spend included, is due each month. Amex also notes that company liability supported by a personal guarantee applies to employee card charges. Business Platinum gives complimentary Business Gold employee cards plus one complimentary Platinum employee card, on a card costing £650. The two are compared on Amex Business Gold vs Platinum. Amex tools include expense reports and export to QuickBooks and Xero from the online account.
Barclaycard Select Cashback: employee cards are free; administrators set each cardholder’s limit; number not stated. Barclaycard’s customer guide lists: MyControls spending categories, card freezing and ATM controls, the Barclaycard for Business app, downloadable transaction reports; no accounting integration named. Premium Plus: employee cards are free, on an account costing £150 per account. Both accept sole traders, which Capital on Tap does not.
Bank cards: per-card fees and caps
Most high-street bank cards charge per card, and the fee applies to each employee card as well as yours. NatWest’s standard card is £30 per card; free in year one and waived with £6,000+ annual spend; the NatWest Business Plus card charges £70 a year per cardholder, with no free first year, including for startups. Lloyds charges £32 per cardholder; free for the first 12 months and waived with £6,000+ annual spend; Bank of Scotland £32 per cardholder after year one (same spend waiver); HSBC £32 per card after year one. Virgin Money: Unlimited, each with its own limit; £28 a card after year one. The Co-operative Bank offers additional cards on the same limit; cost not stated; its annual fee is £24, and the page does not say whether the fee is per card or per account.
Santander is the outlier in the other direction. Its Business Cashback card allows up to 3 additional cardholders (4 cards in total), no extra fee; every director or partner must hold one. That suits a two-director company and nothing larger; there is no way to give 10 staff their own cards. On personal guarantees, Santander says: Required from all directors or members of a Ltd or LLP. Our Santander Business Cashback review covers the rest.
Funding Circle: Unlimited and free (a feature Funding Circle labels Beta); only a director can issue them. iwoca: our data does not state employee-card terms. Pleo: Start £8, Build £14, Optimise £18 per user per month (Build and Optimise billed yearly, 3-user minimum); the cards are prepaid e-money cards funded from your bank; an optional credit limit (£5k / £20k / £100k by plan) for eligible customers. Wise Business: £3 one-off per team card, on a debit card that spends your own balance, with mid-market rate plus a conversion fee from 0.24%; free to spend a currency you already hold.
Physical or virtual: which card for which job
Free employee cards change how you think about them. When each card costs money, you ration them: one card for the office manager, everyone else claims expenses. When they cost nothing, the question becomes which kind of card suits each kind of spending.
- People who buy things in person (site visits, client lunches, travel) need a physical card in their own name, with a monthly limit that matches their role.
- Recurring software and online services are better on virtual cards, one per supplier. If a supplier is breached or you cancel the service, you cancel that card alone and nothing else breaks.
- One-off online purchases, such as a piece of equipment or a conference ticket, suit a virtual card with a tight per-transaction limit, cancelled afterwards.
- Contractors or temporary staff are better served with a low-limit card you can close when the engagement ends than with access to someone else’s card details.
On a card that charges per card, that approach is expensive, so businesses share cards and lose the audit trail. On a card with free, unlimited cards it costs nothing, and every transaction is tied to a person or a supplier. Our guide to employee cards and spend controls goes through setting limits and writing a simple card policy.
Spend controls, receipts and accounting sync
Free cards are only useful if you can control them. The controls worth checking are per-card limits, the ability to freeze a card instantly, merchant or category restrictions, and how transactions reach your accounts.
- Capital on Tap: limits per billing period or per transaction, set per card in the portal; instant virtual cards; sync to Sage, Xero, QuickBooks, FreeAgent and more, syncs every 12 hours.
- Barclaycard: MyControls spending categories, card freezing and ATM controls, the Barclaycard for Business app, downloadable transaction reports; no accounting integration named.
- American Express: Expense reports and export to QuickBooks and Xero from the online account; employee card limits you set.
- Virgin Money: each employee card has its own limit. Co-operative Bank: additional cards share the same limit.
- Funding Circle: only a director can issue them; integrations with FreeAgent, Xero, Sage.
- Pleo: Accounting integrations (Xero, QuickBooks, Sage and others listed on Pleo's site) (not yet verified against Pleo’s own page).
Receipt capture differs a lot between providers, and it is where expense platforms such as Pleo earn their subscription. For a credit card, the practical question is whether transactions land in your accounting software automatically so that you or your bookkeeper can attach receipts there; our guide to syncing cards with Xero, QuickBooks and FreeAgent covers how each package handles it.
Who pays if an employee misuses a card
On a business credit card, the account belongs to the company, so everything an employee spends is the company’s debt. If the company cannot pay, a personal guarantee moves that debt to the director. Capital on Tap: personal guarantee required. American Express, for Business Gold, says the main Cardmember is liable for their spending, and company liability supported by a personal guarantee applies to employee card charges. Santander: Required from all directors or members of a Ltd or LLP.
So an employee card is a slice of your own credit, and a limit is the only real protection. Set per-card limits to what the job needs, use virtual cards for recurring payments so a leaked number can be killed without replacing anything else, cancel cards the day someone leaves, and have a written card policy that staff sign. Misuse by an employee is an employment matter between you and them; it does not usually change what the company owes the card issuer. The guide to director personal guarantees explains what you are signing.
Who should choose which
| You are | Consider | Why |
|---|---|---|
| A Ltd or LLP with staff who spend | Capital on Tap | unlimited free employee cards with per-card limits; £0 annual fee; 0% non-sterling transaction fee |
| A company over a year old wanting a second free-cards option | Funding Circle | Unlimited and free; Limited companies only; at least one year trading; £30,000+ turnover |
| A director who wants Amex points and pays in full | Amex Business Gold | Up to 20 complimentary employee cards; fee £0 in year one, then £195 |
| A sole trader with staff | Barclaycard Select Cashback | Employee cards free; Capital on Tap is not available to sole traders |
| Two directors who want one relationship with Santander | Santander Business Cashback | Up to 3 additional cardholders (4 cards in total), no extra fee; every director or partner must hold one |
| A business that wants receipts and approvals over credit | Pleo | Start £8, Build £14, Optimise £18 per user per month (Build and Optimise billed yearly, 3-user minimum) |
For a limited company with a growing team, the cost difference is structural: unlimited free employee cards on Capital on Tap against a fee per card, every year, on most bank cards. That is why it is the card I use. The full field of cards is on compare UK business credit cards; iwoca, the other new lender, is there too, although our data does not yet cover its employee cards.
Frequently asked questions
Which business credit cards have free employee cards?
In our data: Capital on Tap (unlimited free employee cards), American Express Business Gold, American Express Business Platinum, British Airways Amex Accelerating Business, Barclaycard Select Cashback, Barclaycard Premium Plus, Santander Business Cashback Credit Card, Funding Circle Cashback Business Credit Card. The conditions differ: Amex Business Gold allows up to 20 complimentary, Santander allows up to 3 additional cardholders, and several of the others are charge cards or carry an annual fee on the account.
How much do employee cards cost on a NatWest or Lloyds business card?
NatWest Business Credit Card: £30 per card; free in year one and waived with £6,000+ annual spend. NatWest Business Plus: £70 a year per cardholder. Lloyds: £32 per cardholder; free for the first 12 months and waived with £6,000+ annual spend. HSBC: £32 per card after year one. On 10 cards, those per-card fees add up quickly once any free year or spend waiver runs out.
How many employee cards can I have with Capital on Tap?
There is no stated cap: Capital on Tap offers unlimited free employee cards with per-card limits, with limits per billing period or per transaction. It also offers instant virtual cards. Employee card spend syncs to Sage, Xero, QuickBooks, FreeAgent and more, syncs every 12 hours.
Who is liable if an employee misuses a business credit card?
The business, and often the director personally. Amex says for Business Gold: “the main Cardmember is liable for their spending”, and that company liability supported by a personal guarantee applies to employee card charges. Capital on Tap: personal guarantee required. A per-card limit is the best protection you have.
Is a prepaid expense card like Pleo cheaper than a credit card for staff?
Not usually on cost alone. Pleo charges Start £8, Build £14, Optimise £18 per user per month (Build and Optimise billed yearly, 3-user minimum), and its cards are prepaid e-money cards funded from your bank. Capital on Tap charges nothing for employee cards and gives credit. Pleo’s strengths are receipt capture and approval workflows; the comparison is on Capital on Tap vs Pleo.
Sources
- Capital on Tap FAQ
- Capital on Tap homepage
- Capital on Tap Business Credit Card page
- Capital on Tap Rewards Terms and Conditions (source last updated 8 June 2026)
- Capital on Tap: Business credit card rates and fees (guide, 22 April 2026) (source last updated 22 April 2026)
- Capital on Tap Revolving Credit Facility Agreement
- Capital on Tap Refer a Friend Programme terms (source last updated 29 April 2025)
- American Express Business Gold: product page (American Express Services Europe Limited)
- American Express Business Platinum: product page (American Express Services Europe Limited)
- British Airways Amex Accelerating Business: product page (American Express Services Europe Limited)
- Barclaycard Select Cashback: product page (Barclays Bank PLC)
- Barclaycard Premium Plus: product page (Barclays Bank PLC)
- Pleo: product page (Pleo Financial Services UK Ltd (EMI, FRN 1020730))
- NatWest Business Credit Card: product page (National Westminster Bank plc)
- NatWest Business Plus Credit Card: product page (National Westminster Bank plc)
- Lloyds Bank Business Credit Card: product page (Lloyds Bank plc)
- HSBC Commercial Card: product page (HSBC UK Bank plc)
- Santander Business Cashback Credit Card: product page (Santander UK plc)
- Metro Bank Business Credit Card: product page (Metro Bank PLC)
- Zempler Bank Business Credit Card: product page (Zempler Bank Limited)
- Funding Circle Cashback Business Credit Card: product page (Issued by Monavate Ltd (EMI, FRN 901097) for Funding Circle)
- Virgin Money Business Credit Card: product page (Nationwide Building Society (trading as Virgin Money))
- The Co-operative Bank Business Credit Card: product page (The Co-operative Bank p.l.c.)
- Bank of Scotland Business Credit Card: product page (Bank of Scotland plc)
- iwoca Credit Card: product page (Issued by Enfuce UK Limited (FRN 993783) for iwoca Ltd)
- Wise Business card: product page (Wise Payments Limited (EMI, FRN 900507))
- Barclaycard Select Cashback: customer guide (MyControls and card tools)
Figures last checked 28 October 2026. If something has changed, tell us and we will correct it.
Related reading
- Employee cardsA first-hand guide to giving staff business cards with limits, how controls work on Capital on Tap, and the mistakes to avoid.
- Virtual cardsWhy we put every SaaS subscription on its own virtual card, how it works on Capital on Tap, and how it tames renewals and cancellations.
- vs PleoPleo's expense-management cards against the Capital on Tap credit card: pricing, credit, receipts, FX and which suits a growing team.
- No annual fee cardsUK business credit cards with no annual fee, the waivers on £30-a-year bank cards, and the conditions that decide whether a free card is really free.